top of page

FARE Teen Summit

As far as I can remember I have had a severe peanut allergy, but when I was fourteen my life changed. If you follow my journey you know that I was selected to be in a sublingual food allergy study at Arkansas Children's Hospital. I spent almost 5 years going back and forth from home to ACH each week. It was all worth it. While I participated in the study I became very familiar with a national organization, Food Allergy Research and Education (FARE). I promoted a cause called, Be a PAL; Protect A Life Against Food Allergies. 

I made it my goal to someday speak at a FARE conference somewhere to share my story! Now, eight years later that dream is coming true. A few weeks ago I was contacted by FARE to speak at the FARE Teen Summit. This conference is for ages 11-22, and parents to come together for peer to peer support. This weekend will be a mixture of helping those who face challenges and milestones in middle school, high school, and college students juggling food allergies. 

I faced challenges that these students might face daily, and I have the chance to tell them how I overcame those obstacles in my life. I believe that I was given an allergy for a reason. That reason to empower others, and to show them that you can overcome any obstacle. 

This November I will be traveling to California for the 2017 FARE Teen Summit. I am beyond excited to be able to talk and to meet to all of the students. If you would like learn more about this amazing organization follow this link >> https://www.foodallergy.org/teensummit

If you would like to help me on my journey to this once in a lifetime experience to the Teen Summit you can contact me at missarintl2017@gmail.com 

Bully Free Starts With Me,

Miss Arkansas International 

Haley Bird 


bottom of page